The office sometimes receives a complaint about children riding MRVs in the neighborhood and not paying attention to the rules of the road. We receive complaints about speeding MRVs and MRVs that trespass on properties. It is not always someone from “the lower neighborhood” causing the issue. At times, our own community members are seen violating the rules and creating a safety hazard. To support safety and protection of property, the MRV registration process is changing. You will see specifics when the mailer goes out with its rules and forms. For now, let me bring your attention to PA DCNR requirements. These requirements are naturally incorporated into LWEPOA rules.
[DCNR: Department of Conservation and Natural Resources.]
Summary of LWEPOA rules. To ride your MRV off your property you must register your vehicle. All PA registered MRVs must have a title issued by DCNR unless your MRV was originally registered with DCNR before February 12, 1987. If you don’t live in PA, your MRV may be registered in your home state as long as it honors PA registration. New Jersey, Delaware and New York honor PA registration. Maryland does not. Here is the list of reciprocity. The MRV shall have liability insurance on it. Operators of MRVs on LWE roads require a driver’s license from any state. MRVs operated on LWE roads must be registered in the office and display the current year’s flag. The 2020 cost of registering your MRV with the office is $25. (Golf carts are separately registered under different rules but they must also carry a flag.) Operating an MRV in LWE without following the rules can result in a fine of $100 or more from LWEPOA. The PA DCNR fine for operating an unregistered and uninsured MRV is $300 and cost of prosecution.
Please note that LWE roads, other owner’s lots, and LWEPOA-owned lots are not your private property. Only your lots are considered your private property. Trespassing can result in a Pike County Magistrate levying a fine of $300 for the first offense.
The following paragraphs are quoted from the PA-DCNR website and apply to LWEPOA.
General Registration. This registration permits the machine to be operated off the owner or operator’s private property. The registration fee is $20 for two years. The owner is provided a registration plate, an expiration sticker and a Certificate of Registration wallet card.
[Plate and sticker] When you register your ATV, you will be issued a registration plate for your vehicle. An expiration sticker to be affixed to the plate will be issued for general registrations. This registration plate shall be securely attached to the upper half of the rear of the ATV. No part of the plate shall be in line with a tire.
The information on the plate must be clearly visible from behind the ATV. It is important to clean mud and dirt off your ATV registration plate at frequent intervals so the information on the plate is clearly visible.
The registration sticker must be placed in a bottom corner of the plate.
[Title] All ATVs in Pennsylvania must have a title issued by DCNR. The cost of a title is $22.50. The exceptions to this requirement are for:
- ATVs registered with DCNR prior to February 12, 1987 — these ATVs do not require a title until they are sold by the owner
- ATVs owned by a Pennsylvania resident, but registered and used in another state
[Insurance] In addition, if you plan to ride your ATV on property that is not owned or leased by you [i.e. general registration], you must carry liability insurance. Proof of that insurance must be carried with you when you ride.
Here is a Summary of Pennsylvania’s ATV Law (PDF)